PawLife vs PetDesk
Published September 9, 2026 · PawLife editorial team
PawLife
PetDeskPawLife is our own app, so treat our verdict as an interested one. Everything stated about the other app was taken from its public App Store listing on September 9, 2026, with a link so you can check it yourself. We name what the other app does well and where its limits are.
This is the least symmetric comparison we publish, and it is worth being clear about why. PetDesk is not really an app you choose — it is an app your veterinary clinic chooses. Clinics pay for it, which is why it is completely free for you and why it has 500,993 ratings: it gets installed at the front desk, on the way out, at thousands of US practices.
What it does, it does well: appointments, refill requests, and records that arrive from the clinic's own system instead of being typed in by hand. What it does not do is anything between visits — and between visits is where a pet actually lives.
Side by side
| Annual price | $49.99 (~$4.17/mo) | free, no in-app purchases |
| Stool tracking with trends | Yes | No |
| Platforms | iOS only | iOS, Android |
| Minimum iOS | 17.0 | 15.6 |
| Interface languages | 13 | not stated |
| AI assistant | Yes — Care assistant with pet-profile context, photo analysis of health issues, vet report scanning | No |
| Food safety database | 500+ human foods and 300+ commercial brands | No |
| Feeding portion calculator | Yes | No |
| Vet report scanning | Yes | No |
| Export for the vet | AI-written vet report plus diary PDF — Pro (the report is generated per request) | Not stated |
| Apple Watch app | Yes | No |
App Store figures were read off the public US storefront on September 9, 2026 and drift over time — check the store page before relying on a figure. We compare capabilities and price rather than star ratings: in this category review volume mostly tracks how an app is distributed, so one handed out by vet clinics collects far more ratings for a narrower product than an independent app does.
What PetDesk does well
- Completely free with no in-app purchases
- Widely distributed through US veterinary clinics
- Books appointments and requests refills directly with the clinic
- Records arrive from the vet rather than being typed in by hand
Where PetDesk runs out
- Useless unless your own veterinary clinic is a PetDesk partner
- It is a clinic communication tool, not a self-directed tracker: no weight charts, no feeding plans, no family sharing
- Nothing to log yourself between visits
- No AI, no food data
What PawLife adds
- Only app in this comparison that pairs an AI assistant with a toxicology database rather than shipping one or the other
- Feeding plans computed from weight, age, breed and activity, not generic tables
- Generates a health report scoped to an upcoming vet visit and a filtered diary export rather than a raw file dump (both Pro)
- Pet data stored on-device, no ads and no analytics SDKs
- Apple Watch app and 13 interface languages
Where PawLife is not the answer: ios only, so no help in an android household. the priciest of the trackers compared here, because it is the only one paying for ai inference on every request. export is pro-only, where pokipaw includes pdf export in its free tier.
Verdict
Both, honestly — if your clinic is a PetDesk partner. It costs nothing, the booking and refill flows are genuinely convenient, and there is no reason to give that up.
But calling it a pet care tracker misreads what it is. PetDesk shows you what your clinic knows. It has no answer for the questions that come up at home: is this food safe, how much should she eat, why has he seemed off since Tuesday. The daily picture — meals, weight, stool, symptoms, the things a vet asks about and nobody quite remembers — has to live somewhere the clinic app cannot see.
That is the half PawLife covers. If your clinic is not a PetDesk partner, the comparison collapses entirely: one of these apps works without permission from your vet's office, and the other does not.

PawLife is free to download. Feeding plans, the health diary, medical records and the full food safety database work without a subscription.
Get PawLife on the App StoreFrequently asked questions
Is PetDesk really free?
Yes, with no in-app purchases at all. Veterinary clinics pay for PetDesk as a client-communication tool, so the owner side costs nothing. The catch is structural: it only works if your clinic is a PetDesk partner.
What if my clinic doesn't use PetDesk?
Then the app has almost nothing to offer — appointments, refills and synced records all flow from a partner clinic. There is no self-directed tracking to fall back on.
Can PetDesk track feeding, weight or symptoms?
No. There are no weight charts, no feeding plans, no symptom or stool logging, and no family sharing. It is a window into your clinic's calendar and records, not a diary of your pet's daily life.
Do I have to choose between PetDesk and PawLife?
No, and if your clinic is a partner you probably shouldn't. They occupy different halves of the same problem: PetDesk handles the clinic relationship, an owner-side tracker covers the day-to-day picture the clinic never sees.
Check the other side yourself: PetDesk on the App Store.